Pellissippi State Foundation names new board members

posted in: Pellissippi State Foundation | 0
Tom Ballard
Tom Ballard

Pellissippi State Community College’s Foundation has named the new chair of its board of trustees for 2015: Tom Ballard, chief alliance officer at Pershing Yoakley & Associates.

“Higher education is a lifelong pursuit. What Pellissippi State does is critical for this region, and will be even more critical in the years ahead,” Ballard said.

“The Foundation Board plays a key role in helping advance Pellissippi State’s mission to educate, and that role is even more significant than before, now that Pellissippi State is the largest community college in Tennessee.”

The Foundation works to provide student scholarships and emergency loans, as well as to improve facilities and secure new equipment.

The Pellissippi State Foundation’s 2015-2016 board members include Joy Bishop, Charles “Wes” Carruthers Jr., David Clothier, Carl Esposito, Henrietta Grant, Charles Griffin, Sharon Hannum, Jonathan Hayes, Sherri Gardner Howell, Joseph Johnson, Andrew Lorenz, Wallace McClure, Peggy McCord, Bobby Malone, Todd Moody, Melissa Ogden, Heather Overton, Rebecca Paylor, Lezah Pinnell, Rick Rushing, Dennis Upton, Harley “Andy” White and L. Anthony Wise Jr.

“If you as an individual want to be successful and have a robust quality of life,” said Ballard, “you need education after high school.

“Pellissippi State plays a critical role in the education continuum in East Tennessee, and we’re always looking for people with similar passions about higher education and Pellissippi State to serve on the board.”

For more information about the Pellissippi State Foundation, visit or call (865) 694-6528.

Download this press release: 2015 Foundation Board