Fall semester brings non-credit courses to Blount County

posted in: BCS, Events | 0

The history of Appalachia is the topic of two upcoming Pellissippi State Community College non-credit courses at the college’s Blount County Campus.

“The Little Tennessee: Valley With a Big Story” is offered 6-8 p.m. Thursdays, Sept. 18-Oct. 30. “Our Appalachia: Mountain Mayhem, Misery and Music” is scheduled 6-8 p.m. Mondays, Sept. 15-Oct. 27. Both courses will be taught by Mark Davidson.

“The Little Tennessee” covers the history of the East Tennessee valley, from the Cherokee Nation to the Secret City project in Oak Ridge. Cost of the class is $89, plus a $15 materials fee. The focus of “Our Appalachia” is the difficulties of mountain life. The course is $89, with a $15 materials fee.
new balance pedometer
Both classes are presented by Pellissippi State’s Business and Community Services Division. Other fall courses in Blount County:

  • “Drawing With Pastels, Pencils and Charcoals,” for all ages. Thursdays, Sept. 18-Oct.23, 6-8:30 p.m. Cost is $105; instructor is Mary Ruden. Learn the basics of drawing with charcoal, pencils and pastels. Participants must provide own art supplies.

For more information about these and other classes offered by Business and Community Services, visit www.pstcc.edu/bcs or call (865) 539-7167. To request accommodations for a disability, email accommodations@pstcc.edu.

Three local painters focus of Pellissippi State ‘Abstractions’ exhibit

posted in: 40th Anniversary, Events, The Arts | 0

JenniferBrickeyAbstractionsPellissippi State Community College features the paintings of three area artists in its “Abstractions” exhibit, which runs Sept. 15-Oct. 3.

The event highlights works of John Bissonette, Jennifer Brickey and Heather Hartman, all of whom explore non-objective imagery in various forms. Brickey also is an assistant professor at Pellissippi State.
orange nike shox
“The paintings all make use of color, space and structure to convey various ideas,” said Herb Rieth, curator of the exhibit and assistant professor at Pellissippi State. “The paintings are engaging, witty, mysterious and intense without using concrete images.”

The exhibit is in the Bagwell Gallery on the Hardin Valley Campus, 10915 Hardin Valley Road. Gallery hours are Monday-Friday, 10 a.m.-6:30 p.m.
new balance shoes
“Abstractions” is one of the many events that make up Pellissippi State’s arts series, The Arts at Pellissippi State. The series brings to the community cultural activities ranging from music and theatre to international celebrations, lectures, and the fine arts. Throughout the 2014-15 academic year, the series celebrates Pellissippi State’s 40th anniversary.

For more information, visit www.pstcc.edu/arts or call (865) 694-6400. To request accommodations for a disability, contact the executive director of Human Resources at (865) 694-6607 or humanresources@pstcc.edu.

Pellissippi State Internet coming back online

posted in: Community, Faculty/Staff, Students | 0

The Internet at all five Pellissippi State Community College campuses went down earlier this week, but it was expected to be operational later today (Sept. 5).

The outage affected Pellissippi State’s website, www.pstcc.edu, as well as classroom software and some email systems. The outage began intermittently on Tuesday, and it impacted traffic both on and off campus.
new louis vuitton bags
Technicians have been working around the clock to restore the Internet and bring the college’s website back online. On campus, classroom software and Internet access were restored Wednesday. An emergency notice was sent to students advising them of the best way to access classroom software from home. Off campus, access to all Pellissippi State Web-based systems was expected to be restored Friday afternoon.

For more information about Pellissippi State, visit www.pstcc.edu or call (865) 694-6400.

Gov. Haslam proclaims today ‘Pellissippi State 40th Anniversary Day’

posted in: 40th Anniversary, Awards | 0

Gov. Bill Haslam honored Pellissippi State Community College’s 40-year anniversary by proclaiming Sept. 4, “Pellissippi State Community College 40th Anniversary Day.”

“We’re honored that the governor recognizes Pellissippi State’s legacy in education and are proud that he is celebrating our anniversary with us,” said L. Anthony Wise Jr., Pellissippi State president.
nike shox tl1
Pellissippi State was founded as State Technical Institute at Knoxville on Sept. 4, 1974. The inaugural class included 45 students in three associate’s degree programs, all in engineering technology. Today, Pellissippi State enrolls more than 10,000 credit students across five campuses in Knox and Blount counties.

Throughout the next year, Pellissippi State will be celebrating 40 years of “Achieving Success, One Story at a Time.” The college will host community events as well as special activities for students, faculty and staff. Students, alumni, and community members are encouraged to share their own positive stories and memories of Pellissippi State at www.pstcc.edu/anniversary. On social media, use #PSCC40.

1 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 153