Pellissippi State event showcases student speeches

posted in: Events, Students | 0

Student speeches will be the focus of an event Thursday, March 19, at Pellissippi State Community College.

The second annual Student Speech Showcase will be held from 7-9 p.m. in the Goins Building Auditorium at Pellissippi State’s Hardin Valley Campus, 10915 Hardin Valley Road.

Student speakers at the event include Hayden Bright, Kayla Lochman, Kyle McGee, Austin Smith and Priscilla Wilson. Lochman will deliver an informative talk titled “Connected or Lonely,” and McGee will persuade his audience that “Your Words DO Matter: The Power of Cyber Hate.” Smith will deliver a speech titled “Slow Down for a Healthy Future.” The other students also will deliver speeches either in the informative or persuasive styles. Each speech is between five and eight minutes long.

The event will feature a Skype interview with Steven Beebe, a professor at Texas State University, who will give a talk entitled “Communicating Well and the Search for Verbs.”

Beebe is author and coauthor of twelve books, many of which are used as textbooks at hundreds of higher education institutions across the world. He and his wife, Susan Beebe, are coauthors of “Public Speaking: An Audience-Centered Approach,” Pellissippi State’s new textbook for speech and public speaking courses. Beebe is a former president of the National Communication Association, and has been a visiting scholar at both Oxford University and Cambridge University.

For more information about Pellissippi State, visit or call (865) 694-6400.

Pellissippi State honors Knox County, City of Knoxville

group of people standing in rows, holding award
Knox County Mayor Tim Burchett and City of Knoxville Mayor Madeline Rogero, recipients of the Tennessee Board of Regents Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy, celebrated the grand opening of the Center for Student and Community Engagement at Pellissippi State Community College’s Magnolia Avenue Campus Friday, Feb. 6. Also pictured are Pellissippi State president L. Anthony Wise Jr., Magnolia Avenue Campus dean Rosalyn Tillman, TBR chancellor John Morgan, TBR vice chancellor of community colleges Warren R. Nichols, TBR board member Danni Varlan, and other elected officials.

On Friday, February 6, Pellissippi State Community College and the Tennessee Board of Regents honored the support of Knox County and the City of Knoxville during an awards ceremony at the College’s Magnolia Avenue Campus.

Knox County and City of Knoxville representatives, including mayors Tim Burchett and Madeline Rogero, were presented the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Philanthropy in honor of their combined investment of more than $1 million to the College, particularly the Magnolia Avenue Campus.

“The support and partnership of our local governments has been critical to our success in reaching students and helping them succeed,” said Pellissippi State President L. Anthony Wise Jr. in his nomination letter.

“Courses and programs offered at the Magnolia Avenue Campus help build our regional workforce. Local government investment in the College has helped to support the expansion of our regional tax base and keep unemployment low in East Tennessee.

“At Pellissippi State, our collaboration with local government is impacting workforce development and student success. Without question, our mission to serve our community has been enhanced through our partnerships with the governments of Knox County and the City of Knoxville,” he added.

For more information about Pellissippi State’s Magnolia Avenue Campus, visit or call (865) 329-3100.

Community invited to Student Honors Recital at Pellissippi State

Graphic with female singing into a microphone and the word Music below.

Pellissippi State Community College features its outstanding student performers at the annual Student Honors Recital on Tuesday, March 3.

The concert, which begins at 7 p.m., is in the Clayton Performing Arts Center on the Hardin Valley Campus, 10915 Hardin Valley Road. The event is free and the community is invited.

“The annual Student Honors Recital features outstanding performers, both Music and non-Music majors, who are studying in private instruction, either in voice or on an instrument,” said Bill Brewer, Music program coordinator. Students are chosen to perform based on the recommendations of their instructors.

“The recital will include both vocalists and instrumentalists performing a wide variety of musical selections. The audience can expect to hear Italian operatic arias, German art songs, Broadway musical favorites, classical instrumental selections from a wide genre of styles, and even some folk and jazz.”

The Student Honors Recital is one of the performances in Pellissippi State’s 2014-2015 Music Concert Series. The series is part of The Arts at Pellissippi State, which brings to the community cultural activities ranging from music and theatre to international celebrations, lectures, and the fine arts. This year, the arts series commemorates Pellissippi State’s 40th anniversary.

All piano presentations and accompaniments are performed on Steinways, in keeping with Pellissippi State’s status as an All-Steinway School.

For additional information about the college’s Music Concert Series or The Arts at Pellissippi State, call (865) 694-6400 or visit To request accommodations for a disability, contact the executive director of Human Resources and Affirmative Action at (865) 694-6607 or

Science Olympiad at Pellissippi State rescheduled to March 7

The East Tennessee regional Science Olympiad competition, hosted by Pellissippi State Community College, has been rescheduled for Saturday, March 7, due to inclement weather.

Science Olympiad brings together middle and high school teams to compete against one another in science, technology, engineering, and math, or STEM, events. Events might include a building competition in which students use the basics of engineering and physics to build a bridge that can support the largest amount of weight. Or students might take part in a laboratory competition in which they apply chemistry and biology to identify mystery powders.

“Science Olympiad is great because it exposes these students to so many different real-life applications of STEM academics,” said Morvarid Bejnood, a Pellissippi State instructor who is planning the event.

“It gives these middle and high school students the opportunity to visit Pellissippi State’s campus, to see our science labs and meet our faculty, as well as to meet local scientists and professionals in STEM fields. Science Olympiad is wonderful for education.”

More than 250 students are expected to take part in the competition. Winning teams go on to compete at the state level.

In addition, dozens of Pellissippi State students will serve as volunteers for the event through the college’s Service-Learning program.

The presenting sponsor of this Science Olympiad competition at Pellissippi State is STEMspark, the East Tennessee STEM education hub of the Tennessee STEM Innovation Network and the national STEMx coalition.

To learn more about Pellissippi State and its STEM and other academic offerings, visit or call (865) 694-6400.

1 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 85