Are you considering taking your next math class online?

Online classes in mathematics are a particular challenge for most students.

The Mathematics Department at Pellissippi State wants you to succeed!.

~~~~~~~~

Here is a an online survey (Atlantic Cape Community College) to help you to determine whether distance learning is for you, before you register for any online course. There is a recommendation provided at the end of the survey.

General information about online classes at Pellissippi State is on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qABzJSzaZd8

The following self-assessment lists requirements you should consider before registering for a math class on the web.

1.   I am able to spend at least 6 to 9 hours each week on my online math class.

2.   I have been successful in other math classes in a lecture setting or online.

(Any student wanting to register for an online math course for a third attempt should do so only with the advice and recommendation of the instructor.)

3.   I will read ALL of the specific course requirements to understand what is expected of me in the course.

4.   I will read ALL of the emails and discussion messages initiated by my instructor.

5.   If I have any questions about the course, I have no problem contacting my instructor to ASK questions.

6.   I understand that there will be due dates and deadlines in the course, and I will develop a plan to meet them.

7.   I have basic computer skills and a computer (PC or Mac).  I will use the browsers approved by the college.

If you answered 'no' to any of the above statements,

it is in your best interest to register for a lecture class instead.

If you have further questions about any online math class, please contact the instructor listed below.

 

Web Course

Instructor (Fall 2014)

 Email

MATH 0800/0820 WW1, WG1

Jan Garner

jtgarner@pstcc.edu

MATH 1010 WW1

Suenghee Lee

slee@pstcc.edu

MATH 1130 WW1

Becky Blackwell

rbblackwell@pstcc.edu

MATH 1530 WW1

Sue Ann (Jones) Dobbyn

sadobbyn@pstcc.edu

MATH 1530 WW2

Seunghee Lee

slee@pstcc.edu

MATH 1530 WW3

Claire Suddeth

cesuddeth@pstcc.edu

MATH 1630 WW1

Brenda Ammons

bammons@pstcc.edu

MATH 1830 WW1

Brenda Ammons

bammons@pstcc.edu

MATH 2000 WW1

Bobby Jackson

rtjackson@pstcc.edu


**More information may be found at Educational Technology Services' Online Classes page