Liberal Arts
Chinese caligraphy
Variations, Pellissippi State's chorale students

Philosophy Faculty

Charles Anderson

  • Professor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Illinois
  • M.A. in Psychology, University of Tennessee
  • Master of Library Science, University of Illinois
  • B.A. in Philosophy, Western Illinois University
  • A.A. in Liberal Arts, Triton College
  • e-mail: canderson@pstcc.edu

 

Charles E. Cardwell 

  • Professor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy (Logic and the Epistemological Foundations of Natural Science), University of Rochester
  • M.A. in Philosophy, University of Rochester
  • B.S. in Physics, Kansas State University
  • B.A. in Philosophy of Religion, Kansas State University
  • e-mail: cecardwell@pstcc.edu

 

E. Frank Mashburn

  • Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • M.A. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • M.Div., Columbia International University (S.C.)
  • M.Acc. (Accountancy), University of Georgia
  • B.B.A., University of Georgia
  • e-mail: efmashburn@pstcc.edu

 

Heidi Speck

  • Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, Arizona State University
  • M.A. in Philosophy, The University of Memphis
  • B.P.S. in Paralegal Studies, The University of Memphis
  • TESL Certification, Tennessee Foreign Language Institute
  • e-mail: hmspeck@pstcc.edu

 

Adam Turk

  • Visiting Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy (Continental Philosophy), Vanderbilt University
  • B.A. in Philosophy, Penn State University
  • B.A. in English, Penn State University
  • e-mail: asturk@pstcc.edu

 

David H. Howell 

  • Emeritus
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, Stanford University
  • B.A. in Philosophy, Lehigh University
  • e-mail: dhowell@pstcc.edu

 

Steve Ballenger 

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • M.Div. in Philosophy and Religion, Trinity Divinity School
  • B.A. in Liberal Arts, Columbia International University
  • Dip. in Human Rights and International Law, University of Strasbourg
  • e-mail: sgballenger@pstcc.edu

 

John H. Claiborne 

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • M.A. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • M.M. in Mathematics, University of Tennessee
  • B.A. in Mathematics, University of Tennessee
  • e-mail: jhclaiborne@mailaka.net

 

Timothy Elledge

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy (concentration in Medical Ethics), University of Tennessee
  • M.A. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • B.A. In Philosophy & Classical Studies, University of Tennessee
  • e-mail: telledge@comcast.net

 

Brian Elwood

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • M.A. in Philosophy (concentration in Religious Studies), University of Tennessee
  • B.A. in Philosophy, Ateneo University (Philippines)
  • e-mail: elvenwood7@yahoo.com or bdelwood@pstcc.edu
     

 

Edward Falls

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Religion (Tibetan Buddhism), Emory University
  • M.A. in Languages and Cultures of Asia (Tibet, South Asia), University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • M.A. in Philosophy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • B.A. in Philosophy/Medieval Studies, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
  • e-mail: erfalls@pstcc.edu

 

Robert "Scott" Hubbard

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. (Hegel and Greek Tragedy), Vanderbilt
  • M.A. in Comparative Literature, Vanderbilt
  • B.A. in Philosophy and Classics, University of Tennessee
  • e-mail: kronides@gmail.com or rshubbard@pstcc.edu

 

R. Andrew (Andy) Kelso

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Arkansas
  • M.A. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • B.A. in Philosophy, Wheaton College (Illinois)
  • e-mail: randrewkelso@gmail.com or rakelso@pstcc.edu

 

Matt Massey 

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Philosophy, University of Tennessee
  • M.A. in Philosophy, Baylor University
  • B.A. in Philosophy, Oklahoma Baptist University
  • e-mail: mdmassey@pstcc.edu

 

Matthew Ruble

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. Candidate, (Ethics/Applied Ethics) University of Tennessee
  • M.A. in Philosophy (Ethics of Psychiatry), Warwick University (United Kingdom)
  • M.A. in Psychological Counseling, Appalachian State University
  • B.A. in Philosophy & Religion, Appalachian State University
  • e-mail: mwruble@pstcc.edu

 

E. Michelle Weedman

  • Adjunct Instructor
  • Ph.D. in Religious Studies, Marquette University
  • M.A. in Theology, Marquette University
  • B.A. in History, Elon University
  • e-mail: emweedman@pstcc.edu