Inside Pellissippi Home

Marketing and

News Releases

College Calendar

Event Promotions

Media Clipping Log


Pellissippi State

Inside Pellissippi

Outstanding students and faculty honored

Pellissippi State recognized students and faculty for outstanding achievement at its 2009 Academic Awards ceremony March 30.

Annie Gray was named Faculty of the Year. Gray is an associate professor of English at the Pellissippi and Division Street campuses.

Students Rebecca Harmon and Abraham Lentz were chosen for the All-USA Community College Academic Team. They were nominated by President Allen G. Edwards in recognition of scholarly achievements.

Outstanding Achievement Awards were presented to part-time and international students. Recipients of the Outstanding Achievement Award for Part-Time Students were Afeni Henderson and Barbara Miller. International Outstanding Achievement Awards went to Tam Ha, Chigusa Kaneko and Ngoc Le.

Inductees into the 2008-09 Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges were Ashley Abbott, Tania Ramzi Abdul-Ahad, David Dills, Afeni Henderson, Rachel Kendra Key, Janet Krebs, Amanda McCathern, Emily McClure, Barbara Miller, Myriam Rhodes, Christie Thomas, Donna Wallace and Jennifer Worsham.

Awards of Merit were presented in several academic disciplines: Laura Bautz, French; Stacey Coppock, Civil Engineering Technology; John Adam Lett, Mechanical Engineering Technology; and Danny Smith, Interior Design Technology. Media Technologies Awards of Merit went to Susan Forehand, Communication Graphics Technology; Amy Morgan, Video Production Technology; and John Cruse, Web Technology.

Outstanding Graduate Awards were presented for each academic department: English, Liberal Arts, Mathematics, Natural and Behavioral Sciences, Business and Computer Technology, and Engineering and Media Technologies.

Recipients include Anna Wilkes, English; Gabrielle LeFlore and Adam Motz, Liberal Arts; Lucas Ryan Koch, Mathematics; and Trevor Morgan and Brandon Gard, Natural and Behavioral Sciences.

Business and Computer Technology Outstanding Graduate Award recipients and their disciplines of study: Tonya Atkins, Computer Accounting; Irene Huerto, Hospitality; Ethan Brewer, Management; Megan Thomas, Marketing; Kenneth Dyess, Computer Science and Information Technology; Matthew Spence, Networking and Communications Systems; Michelle Clabough, Office Systems Technology/Health Care Office Administration; and Barbara Miller, Paralegal Studies.

The Engineering and Media Technology Outstanding Graduate Awards were presented to Craig Pryputniewicz, Civil Engineering Technology; Patricia Ford, Computer Integrated Drafting and Design Technology; Tam Ha, Electrical Engineering Technology; Megan Shipley, Interior Design Technology; Fue Xiong, Mechanical Engineering Technology; Mary Priestley, Media Technologies/Communication Graphics Technology; Philip Whitaker, Media Technologies/Photography; Adam Blount, Media Technologies/Video Production Technology; and Bradley May, Media Technologies/Web Technology.

John Eickman was honored with the Mechanical Engineering Technology John C. Mauer Award of Excellence.


top of page