September 10, 2003


   I.           Call to order         

The meeting was called to order at 3 p.m. by Business Officer Ely Driver.


  II.          Approval of minutes                           The minutes of May 7 were approved.


 III.          Officer reports     


                Communications Officer                     Cindy Alexander                  No report


                Secretary                                               Carol Luther                          No report


                TBR Representative                            Dave Vinson

                                D. Vinson summarized the changes in the proposed TBR Tenure Promotion

                                Policy.  The major changes are as follows:

1 – The list of degrees considered terminal in their fields will be approved by TBR, not by individual presidents.

                                2 – TBR’s policy on the number of times one might apply for tenure is clarified to

                                state that an instructor will have only one opportunity for tenure.

                                Faculty should send any opinions on the policy to Dr. Bruns by Sept. 22.



                President                                               Kathy Byrd


·         Adjunct Representative John Fairstein was welcomed.

·         In-service session on the Faculty Evaluation system

K. Byrd summarized.  Steering Committee is presenting two motions as a result of discussion during the session.

·         Meeting with Dr. Edwards

K. Byrd reported Dr. Edwards’ comments on the budget and layoffs.  His first priority if we receive any additional money is adjunct raises.

·         News from Learning Council

Learning Council has approved the new Academic Misconduct Policy, and it is being sent to TBR for approval. Summer enrollment was up 34%, while fall enrollment is down about 3%.


IV.                 Committee Reports


 Steering Committee                             Kathy Byrd


Motions from Steering Committee:


Motion 1:  That the Faculty Council recommend that wording in the evaluation document be changed from “excellent” to “exceptional.”


Motion 1 passed.


Motion 2:  That Faculty Council create a standing committee on evaluation with members from each academic department.


Motion 2 passed.


Motion 3: That the summer 2004 calendar changes be revisited and a rationale provided for the changes.


Motion 3 passed.


Motion 4: That the phrase “adjunct faculty” means “currently employed at Pellissippi State.”


The motion was referred back to Steering Committee.


Motion 5: That Article 8, section 4, subpart E3a be struck and the following substituted: “Adjunct faculty receive one seat on the Faculty Council Steering Committee. Adjunct faculty are defined as part-time teachers who are employed semester by semester. In order to represent the adjunct faculty and exercise a vote in Faculty Council business or on the Steering Committee, the adjunct must be teaching in the current major semester (fall or spring). One adjunct representative is elected each year and serves two years or until a successor is elected. Only the senior representative exercises a vote on the Steering Committee. If the senior adjunct representative is unable to exercise his/her vote because of not teaching in a given semester, his/her term is ended early and the junior representative becomes the senior representative. Vacancies will be filled by election at the next Steering Committee meeting.”


The motion was referred back to Steering Committee.


Motion 6: That the phrase “or until a successor is elected” be added to every term of office.


The motion passed.


                Promotion/Tenure                Janice Rowland/Don Thomas       Committees are being formed.


                Faculty Forums                    Elaine Oswald/Paul Baxter           No report


                Student Scholarship            Karen Cornell                                    Donation boxes are ready for books.


                Adjunct Faculty                   John Fairstein

                                R. Feezell has resigned. A second adjunct representative is needed.


Rules Committee                  Donn King

                Members are Don Thomas and Anita Maddox.  An additional faculty member from

                another department is needed.


   V.         Unfinished Business           None

  VI.         New Business                       None

 VII.         Announcements                  None

VIII.        Adjournment                        The meeting adjourned at 4 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,


Carol Luther

Recording Secretary