JULY 20, 2005




I.                    Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by                   Mary Monroe-Ellis. Senators present: Mary Monroe-Ellis, Bill Brewer, Paul Ramp, Anne Kinggard, Carol Brenner, Wanda Scarbro, David Gilbert, Dave Vinson, Judy Fethe, Bob Stern, Ashley Boone, Rick Bower, Ramzi Ghezawi, Jonathan Morrell, Rick Pattton, Sydney Gingrow, Maggie Jenkins, Katherine Harper, Kathy Byrd, Jonathan Lamb, Lawana Day, Liz McCowan, Garry Pennycuff.

II.                  Officer Elections: The President Elect will be elected next academic year, the following were elected to the positions stated: Recording Secretary – Bill Brewer , TBR Representative – Dave Vinson, Business Officer – Jonathan Lamb, Parliamentarian – Paul Ramp, Communications Officer – Rick Bower

III.               Statement on Rights and Freedoms of Students: adopted with stated changes and will be placed in the policies and procedures handbook after approval by COSA and Dr. Bruns. Carried with one opposing vote.

IV.              Reviewing Department Head Status: Motion - The Faculty Senate requests that the existing policy for Reviewing Department Head Status be followed. Bob Stern suggested that each department review and discuss the policy before approving the motion. The motion was tabled until further review of policies.

V.                 Proposal in response to the 10% Presidential bonus: No action taken with the exception of Dave Vinson’s suggestion that we monitor and document cuts in positions and budgets in relation to bonuses awarded if the proposal passes.

VI.              New Business: After a lengthy discussion concerning the existence of a process or precedent for dealing with faculty disabilities issues, the suggestion was made and approved to invite Peggy Wilson to a future meeting of the Faculty Senate to address these issues.

VII.            Announcements: Next meeting of Faculty Senate will be September 7th at 3:30 on the Hardin Valley Campus.

VIII.         Adjournment: Motion to adjourn made by Jonathan Lamb at 2:43 p.m.