Spring Fling photo booth
Spring Fling Juggling Club
Spring Fling Volleyball

Student Life


Club Training 2016-17

 Club Training 2015-16

Through dozens of student clubs, the student experience at Pellissippi State provides plenty of opportunities for personal enrichment. Students can gain experience in developing lifelong skills like leadership, event planning, budgeting and communication through experience in student clubs – and these valuable skills are relevant for future careers and community service.

If you don’t find a student club that meets your needs, you might be interested in starting your own! For more information about that process, go to our New Club Process.

Student clubs may refer to the Club Handbook to learn more about policies and procedures.

Advisors and Club Officers please subscribe

to this mailing list to stay informed.

link for MailChimp


Clubs & Organizations

Advisor Contact Information

ASL Please!

To promote knowledge of ASL in the college and larger communities and to build and strengthen relationships with Deaf and ASL Communities. asl@pstcc.edu

HV: Gay Baker - 1ggbaker@gmail.com

Active Black Student Association – [ABSA]

Provides an opportunity for students to create, plan, and implement programming and a forum to discuss concerns of minority students.  absa_d@pstcc.edu

DV: Marcia Coleman -mdcoleman@pstcc.edu

MA: Aneshia Brown - aybrown@pstcc.edu

American Institute of Graphic Arts

To gain student involvement in the local design community, create a campus community and help build leadership skills that will be valuable when graduates move into the professional world. aiga@pstcc.edu

HV:  Stewart Taylor - sttaylor@pstcc.edu

Association of Information Technology Professionals

To promote a strong network of IT business professionals, have access to empowering resources and opportunities and position graduates to achieve their professional goals.

HV: Gitti Negahban - gnegahban@pstcc.edu

Association for Networking and System Administration

To promote the networking technologies profession, as well as provide enhanced training for future professionals.

HV:  Jerry Sherrod - jsherrod@pstcc.edu

Bible Club – Blount County

To further understand the Bible and to develop new relationships with others while showing support for Pellissippi and its community.

BC: Derrick Harmon - dharmon@pstcc.edu

COSA – Student Activities Board [SAB]

To plan, organize, implement and evaluate activities on campus. Offering the student body educational, social and cultural enrichment opportunities.

ALL: studentlife@pstcc.edu

Chinese Language Club

Study groups, games [language-learning], movie nights and community service.

HV: Jiaqi Gu - jgu@pstcc.edu

Club Ed

To provide opportunities for students to develop leadership skills through college and community service projects, as well as cultivate relationships with students to promote the welfare and education of young children.

HV: Joanna Dennyjhdenny@pstcc.edu

Creative Writing Club

To engage and support creative writers at Pellissippi State. creativewritingclub@pstcc.edu

DV: Michael Hurstmjhurst@pstcc.edu

HV: Heather Schroeder- hlschroeder@pstcc.edu

MA: Keri Withington - klwithington@pstcc.edu

SP: Patty Ireland - paireland@pstcc.edu

DISCO – Division International Student & Cultural Organization

To enhance ESOL students’ cultural and educational experiences.

DS: Chester Needham - cwneedham@pstcc.edu

Drama Club

To develop dramatic talent and the art of acting, to cultivate a taste for the best in drama and foster cultural values developed by dramatics. dpo_drama@pstcc.edu

HV: Charles Miller - cmiller@pstcc.edu

MA: Richard Patton  - rpatton@pstcc.edu

Fencing Club

To promote the sport of fencing through instruction of its history and to teach others about fencing’s health and personal development benefits. fencing@pstcc.edu

HV: Mark Cotter - mscotter@pstcc.edu

French Exchange Club

To build and create a community of students who will assist in the planning and implementation of the French Exchange program with program coordinators and advisors.

HV: Joan Jackson - jcjackson@pstcc.edu

Gamers and Geeks Club

To promote and provide acceptance, respect, learning and fun for gamers and geeks.

SP: Mike North - mnorth@pstcc.edu

Gamma Beta Phi 

To recognize and encourage excellence in education; to promote development of leadership ability and character in its members; and to foster, disseminate and improve education through appropriate service projects.

HV: Sara Malley - semalley@pstcc.edu

MA: Moira Connelly - maconnelly@pstcc.edu

Green PAWS

Pioneering Advocates of Worldwide Sustainability. To seek opportunities that will allow students to engage in and promote sustainable practices on campus. sustainability@pstcc.edu


Hiking and Outdoors Club

To promote and engage in outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking and similar activities.

BC: David McNeill - dfmcneill@pstcc.edu

IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Robotics Club

To promote professionalism among the student members and cooperative relationships with local industries.

HV: Carl Mallette - clmallette@pstcc.edu

HV:  Curtis Holmes - cgholmes@pstcc.edu

  Imaginary Gardens Literary Magazine

To produce a literary magazine each spring semester featuring short stories, poetry, artwork and photography submitted by students. imaginarygardens@pstcc.edu

HV:  Robert Lloyd - rtlloyd@pstcc.edu

International Club

To share each other’s customs and culture, to have fun and join in activities for the betterment of the student body. iclub@pstcc.edu

HV: Patricia Higgins - pjhiggins@pstcc.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

To establish witnessing communities of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture and God’s purposes in the world. Intervarsity@pstcc.edu

HV:  Toby Russell - thrussell@pstcc.edu


Juggling Club

A place for people to juggle, manipulate objects and socialize.

HV:  David R. Brown - drbrown@pstcc.edu

Kappa Beta Delta

To encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management, administration, and other business programs who are pursuing associate degrees in ACBSP-accredited two-year colleges, to encourage and promote personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

HV:  Lucinda Alexander -    lkalexander@pstcc.edu

MSA - Muslim Student Association

To arrange and hold congregational prayers and to promote friendly relations between Muslims and non-Muslims.

HV:  Ramzi Ghezawi - rghezawi@pstcc.edu

HV: Leigh Anne Touzeau - latouzeau@pstcc.edu

Pelli Freethinkers

To provide a safe place for students of any and all religions to meet new people, diversify their way of thinking and explore other religions.

HV: Charles Anderson - canderson@pstcc.edu

Pellissippi Press

To produce a student newspaper that provides a forum of expression for students at Pellissippi State.

HV: Charles T. Walker - ctwalker@pstcc.edu

Pellissippi Pride Club (LGBT)

To offer unity, resources and support in social, educational and political environments for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer students, faculty, staff and their allies. ppride@pstcc.edu

BC: Melanie A. Fulbright -mafulbright@pstcc.edu

DV: Gregory Dutheyglduthey@pstcc.edu

HV: Christina Elliott - crelliott@pstcc.edu

MA: Moira Connelly - maconnelly@pstcc.edu 

Pellissippi Sitting Meditation Group

Offering a place of meditation and quiet reflection.

HV: studentlife@pstcc.edu

Pellissippi Ultimate Frisbee

To give students, faculty and staff a place to come together and enjoy Ultimate Frisbee. pufrisbee@pstcc.edu

HV: Phil Ems - paems@pstcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa

This national honor society for two-year colleges recognizes academic excellence among students at Pellissippi State. ptkuser@pstcc.edu

BC:  Casey Lambert - calambert2@pstcc.edu

HV:  Judy Sichler - jasichler@pstcc.edu

Photography Club

To provide students the opportunity to advance their photography skills by learning from each other. 

HV:  Ron Goodrich - rpgoodrich@pstcc.edu

HV:  Kurt Eslick - kteslick@pstcc.edu

Psychology Club

To educate and provide a platform for interest in the field of psychology.

BC: Christie Cunningham clcunningham@pstcc.edu

R.A.G.E Really Awesome Gaming Evolution

Playing games, teaching students and community about the history and development of the gaming industry; also to promote and educate in all aspects of gaming.

MA: Sonya Elsberry - snelsberry@pstcc.edu

Rotaract Club  - Service above Self

To bring together people ages 18-30 in universities and communities worldwide to organize service activities, develop leadership and professional skills, and have fun.

HV: Denise Carr - dcreed@pstcc.edu

SAACS (Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society)

To spread interest in chemistry and chemical careers to current students enrolled in a science or engineering major. To broaden what chemistry is and where it is applicable in daily lives.

HV: Rachel Glazener - rlglazener@pstcc.edu

SNAPS (Student Nurses Association Pellissippi State)

To educate nursing students and promote their involvement in a professional nursing organization.

HV: Angela Lunsford - aclunsford@pstcc.edu

STEA (Student Tennessee Education Association)

To promote and support future teachers.

HV: Barbara Jenkins - bkjenkins@pstcc.edu

HV: Cindy Sauer - casauer@pstcc.edu

S.U.R.G.E. (Sci-fi, Ultima-anime, Role-playing, Games & Everything else)

To analyze and discuss episodes of interest and cooperate as a community to go to a convention with fundraising and special events. surge@pstcc.edu

HV: studentlife@pstcc.edu

Science Club

To promote interest in the sciences by exploring life science issues through discussions, lectures and field trips. science_club@pstcc.edu

HV: Jerry Burns - jburns@pstcc.edu

Science Fiction Club

To discuss science fiction, present lectures and share interests.

HV: Trent Eades - tweades@pstcc.edu

Sport Clubs

All clubs are coed and compete in mixed leagues. Stop into the SRC or e-mail Phil Ems for more information.

HV: Phil Ems - paems@pstcc.edu

Spanish Fiesta

To practice speaking Spanish and to learn more about Spanish and Spanish speaking countries and cultures while having fun.

MA: Mary Quillen  - MJQuillen@pstcc.edu

Student Hospitality Club

To provide networking and site visit opportunities for hospitality students in conjunction with professional organizations such as KTA & THA.

HV: Holly Knowling - hmknowling@pstcc.edu

Student Veteran's Group

To connect fellow veterans with each other and offer services that will help them facilitate a transition from military life to that of a student at Pellissippi State.

HV: Ron Bridges - rkbridges@pstcc.edu

Tennessee Intercollegiate Student Legislature (TISL)

To use state government as a model to educate and inspire Tennessee college students to the highest standards of leadership, public service and civic engagement. The TISL conducts legislative, judicial and other participatory programs that lets students experience realistic governing situations and voice their opinions on public affairs.

HV: Kim Thomas-LaRue - kthomas@pstcc.edu


Changes and additions can occur throughout the school year.