Spring Fling photo booth
Hanging of the Greens 2016
BWS

Student Life


Clubs


Club Training 2016-17

 Club Training 2015-16

Through dozens of student clubs, the student experience at Pellissippi State provides plenty of opportunities for personal enrichment. Students can gain experience in developing lifelong skills like leadership, event planning, budgeting and communication through experience in student clubs – and these valuable skills are relevant for future careers and community service.

If you don’t find a student club that meets your needs, you might be interested in starting your own! For more information about that process, go to our New Club Process.

Student clubs may refer to the Club Handbook to learn more about policies and procedures.

Advisors and Club Officers please subscribe

to this mailing list to stay informed.

link for MailChimp

 

Clubs & Organizations

Advisor Campus/Contact Information

ASL Please!

To promote knowledge of ASL in the college and larger communities and to build and strengthen relationships with Deaf and ASL Communities. asl@pstcc.edu

HV: Gay Baker 1ggbaker@gmail.com

Active Black Student Association – [ABSA]

Provides an opportunity for students to create, plan, and implement programming and a forum to discuss concerns of minority students.  absa_d@pstcc.edu

DV: Marcia Coleman mdcoleman@pstcc.edu

MA: Aneshia Brown aybrown@pstcc.edu

American Institute of Graphic Arts

To gain student involvement in the local design community, create a campus community and help build leadership skills that will be valuable when graduates move into the professional world. aiga@pstcc.edu

HV:  Stewart Taylor sttaylor@pstcc.edu

Anime Club

To gather like-minded students, discuss, view, read and create an interest among other students for anime.

MA: Margaret Jansen mhjansen@pstcc.edu

Association of Information Technology Professionals

To promote a strong network of IT business professionals, have access to empowering resources and opportunities and position graduates to achieve their professional goals.

HV: Gitti Negahban gnegahban@pstcc.edu

Association for Networking and System Administration

To promote the networking technologies profession and provide enhanced training for future professionals.

HV: Jerry Sherrod jsherrod@pstcc.edu

BCM – Baptist Collegiate Ministry

We hope that you come and visit fellowship with us, and hopefully find your place on campus here at the BCM. 

HV:  Denise Penskofer dapenzkofer@pstcc.edu

Bible Club – Blount County

To further understand the Bible, develop new relationships and show support for Pellissippi and its community.

BC: Derrick Harmon dharmon@pstcc.edu

COSA – Student Activities Board [SAB]

To plan, organize, implement and evaluate activities on campus. Offering the student body educational, social and cultural enrichment opportunities.

ALL: studentlife@pstcc.edu

Chinese Language Club

Study groups, games [language-learning], movie nights and community service.

HV: Jiaqi Gu jgu@pstcc.edu

Club Ed

To provide opportunities for students to develop leadership skills through college and community service projects and cultivate relationships with students to promote the welfare and education of young children.

HV: Joanna Denny jhdenny@pstcc.edu

College Democrats of America

To support the participation of college students in the Democratic Party and public service to the community.

HV: Edward Francisco efrancisco@pstcc.edu

Creative Writing Club

To engage and support creative writers at Pellissippi State. creativewritingclub@pstcc.edu

DV: Michael Hurst mjhurst@pstcc.edu

HV: Heather Schroeder hlschroeder@pstcc.edu

MA: Keri Withington klwithington@pstcc.edu

SP: Patty Ireland paireland@pstcc.edu

DISCO – Division International Student & Cultural Organization

To enhance ESOL students’ cultural and educational experiences.

DS: Chester Needham cwneedham@pstcc.edu

Drama Club

To develop dramatic talent, the art of acting, to cultivate a taste for the best in drama and foster cultural values developed by dramatics. dpo_drama@pstcc.edu

HV: Charles Miller cmiller@pstcc.edu

MA: Richard Patton  rpatton@pstcc.edu

Evolution Of Gamers [EOG]

To analyze and discuss episodes of interest and cooperate as a community to go to a convention with fundraising and special events. surge@pstcc.edu

HV: Elizabeth McCowan eimccowan@pstcc.edu

HV: Trish Roller pdroller@pstcc.edu

Fencing Club

To promote the sport of fencing through instruction of its history and to teach others about fencing’s health and personal development benefits. fencing@pstcc.edu

HV: Mark Cotter mscotter@pstcc.edu

French Exchange Club

To build and create a community of students who will assist in the planning and implementation of the French Exchange program with program coordinators and advisors.

HV: Joan Jackson jcjackson@pstcc.edu

Gamers and Geeks Club

To promote and provide acceptance, respect, learning and fun for gamers and geeks.

SP: Mike North mnorth@pstcc.edu

Gamma Beta Phi 

To recognize and encourage excellence in education; to promote development of leadership ability and character in its members; and to foster, disseminate and improve education through appropriate service projects.

MA: Moira Connelly maconnelly@pstcc.edu

Green PAWS

Pioneering Advocates of Worldwide Sustainability. To seek opportunities that will allow students to engage in and promote sustainable practices on campus. sustainability@pstcc.edu

HV: sustainability@pstcc.edu

Hammock Club

To have other outdoor events and educational sessions about outdoor recreation. To work to conservation projects to maintain hammock areas.

HV: Heather Schroeder hlschroeder@pstcc.edu

Hiking and Outdoors Club

To promote and engage in outdoor activities including hiking, backpacking and similar activities.

BC: David McNeill dfmcneill@pstcc.edu

IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Robotics Club

To promote professionalism among the student members and cooperative relationships with local industries.

HV: Carl Mallette clmallette@pstcc.edu

HV: Curtis Holmes cgholmes@pstcc.edu

  Imaginary Gardens Literary Magazine

To produce a literary magazine each spring semester featuring short stories, poetry, artwork and photography submitted by students. imaginarygardens@pstcc.edu

HV:  Robert Lloyd rtlloyd@pstcc.edu

 

International Club

To share our customs, culture, have fun and join activities for the betterment of the student body. iclub@pstcc.edu

HV: Patricia Higgins pjhiggins@pstcc.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

To establish witnessing communities of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture and God’s purposes in the world. Intervarsity@pstcc.edu

HV:  Toby Russell thrussell@pstcc.edu

Juggling Club

A place for people to juggle, manipulate objects and socialize.

HV:  David R. Brown drbrown@pstcc.edu

Kappa Beta Delta

To encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students of business, management, administration, and other business programs who are pursuing associate degrees in ACBSP-accredited two-year colleges, to encourage and promote personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

HV:  Lucinda Alexander lkalexander@pstcc.edu

MSA - Muslim Student Association

To arrange and hold congregational prayers and to promote friendly relations between Muslims and non-Muslims.

HV: Leigh Anne Touzeau latouzeau@pstcc.edu

Pellissippi Paralegal Association

To provide academic support programs and activities that will enhance the learning experience of the paralegal studies students.

DV: Holly Sayne hdsayne@pstcc.edu

Pellissippi Press

To produce a student newspaper that provides a forum of expression for students at Pellissippi State.

HV: Charles T. Walker ctwalker@pstcc.edu

Pellissippi Pride Club (LGBT)

To offer unity, resources and support in social, educational and political environments for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer students, faculty, staff and their allies. ppride@pstcc.edu

BC: Melanie Fulbright mafulbright@pstcc.edu

DV: Gregory Duthey glduthey@pstcc.edu

HV: Christina Elliott crelliott@pstcc.edu

MA: Moira Connelly maconnelly@pstcc.edu 

Pellissippi Ultimate Frisbee

To give students, faculty and staff a place to come together and enjoy Ultimate Frisbee. pufrisbee@pstcc.edu

HV: Phil Ems paems@pstcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa

This national honor society for two-year colleges recognizes academic excellence among students at Pellissippi State. ptkuser@pstcc.edu

BC:  Casey Lambert calambert2@pstcc.edu

HV:  Judy Sichler jasichler@pstcc.edu

Photography Club

To provide students the opportunity to advance their photography skills by learning from each other. 

HV:  Ron Goodrich rpgoodrich@pstcc.edu

MA:  Naomi Williams nmwilliams@pstcc.edu

Psychology Club

To educate and provide a platform for interest in the field of psychology.

BC: Christie Cunningham clcunningham@pstcc.edu

SP: Tracy Rees trrees@pstcc.edu

R.A.G.E Really Awesome Gaming Evolution

Playing games, teaching students and community about the history and development of the gaming industry; also to promote and educate in all aspects of gaming.

MA: Sonya Elsberry snelsberry@pstcc.edu

Recreation Club

To help improve students physically and to broadening their understanding on how to keep the body healthy through nutrition and physical activity.

HV: Denise Penskofer dapenzkofer@pstcc.edu

Rotaract Club  - Service above Self

To bring together people ages 18-30 in universities and communities worldwide to organize service activities, develop leadership and professional skills, and have fun.

HV: Denise Carr dcreed@pstcc.edu

SAACS (Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society)

To spread interest in chemistry and chemical careers to current students enrolled in a science or engineering major. To broaden what chemistry is and where it is applicable in daily lives.

HV: Rachel Glazener rlglazener@pstcc.edu

SNAPS (Student Nurses Association Pellissippi State)

To educate nursing students and promote their involvement in a professional nursing organization.

HV: Angela Lunsford aclunsford@pstcc.edu

STEA (Student Tennessee Education Association)

To promote and support future teachers.

HV: Barbara Jenkins bkjenkins@pstcc.edu

Science Club

To promote interest in the sciences by exploring life science issues through discussions, lectures and field trips. science_club@pstcc.edu

HV: Jerry Burns jburns@pstcc.edu

Science Fiction Club

To discuss science fiction, present lectures and share interests.

HV: Trent Eades tweades@pstcc.edu

Secular Student Alliance

To educate high school and college students about the value of scientific reason and the intellectual basis of secularism in its atheistic and humanistic manifestations.

HV: David Howell dhowell@pstcc.edu

HV: Charles Cardwell cecardwell@pstcc.edu

Sport Clubs

All clubs are coed and compete in mixed leagues. Stop into the SRC or e-mail Phil Ems for more information.

HV: Phil Ems paems@pstcc.edu

Student Hospitality Club

To provide networking and site visit opportunities for hospitality students in conjunction with professional organizations such as KTA & THA.

HV: Holly Knowling hmknowling@pstcc.edu

Student Veteran's Group (Patriots)

To connect fellow veterans with each other and offer services that will help them facilitate a transition from military life to that of a student at Pellissippi State.

HV: Ron Bridges rkbridges@pstcc.edu

Tennessee Intercollegiate Student Legislature (TISL)

To use state government as a model to educate and inspire Tennessee college students to the highest standards of leadership, public service and civic engagement. The TISL conducts legislative, judicial and other participatory programs that lets students experience realistic governing situations and voice their opinions on public affairs.

HV: Kim Thomas-LaRue kthomas@pstcc.edu

Total Access

To help students with disabilities connect with each other and with students without disabilities improve the college experience by ensuring equal access and opportunity to personal and academic achievements while at Pellissippi State.

HV: Michele DeFelice mfdefelice@pstcc.edu

HV: Michelle Miller mimiller@pstcc.edu

Welding Club

To promote professional competency by providing club members opportunities to create practical or artistic projects, community involvement and volunteer opportunities.

HV: Adam Streich akstreich@pstcc.edu

 

 


 


Changes and additions can occur throughout the school year.