Skip to content
Home » News » Audio, graphic, video, web, welding students excel in state competition  

Audio, graphic, video, web, welding students excel in state competition  

Student participants of the SkillsUSA regional competition in Chattanooga gather on the steps for a photo.
Ten successful SkillsUSA competitors earned gold medals and will advance from the regional to the national competition. They include Hamilton Baker, Isaac Bean, Jadon Devito, Gabe Dunn, Camille Ellis, Jose Gabriel, Alyssa Goldmann, Bruce Hairston, Harrison Huber and Alanna Murphy.

Ten Pellissippi State students will advance to national competition with SkillsUSA after achieving the highest level of accomplishment at the state-level competition earlier this month. 

 A group of 21 Pellissippi State students competed in Chattanooga on April 14-17 at the SkillsUSA Tennessee State Leadership and Skills Conference, a showcase of trade, technical and leadership fields.  

Those who won gold medals on behalf of Pellissippi State include: 

 Isaac Bean and Bruce Hairston; audio-radio production
Hamilton Baker and Harrison Huber; digital cinema production
Jadon Devito and Alanna Murphy; 3-D visualization and animation
Gabe Dunn; internet of things – smart home
Camille Ellis and Alyssa Goldmann; television (video) production
Jose Gabriel; welding 

Silver medalists include: 

 Michael Armitage and Jackson Walkington; audio-radio production 

 Bronze medalists include: 

 Michael Lana and Joshua Michael; 3-D visualization and animation 

This year’s state competition drew more than 1,700 high school students and over 2,000 post-secondary students competing in 135 categories over the four-day period. Students worked against the clock and each other, proving their expertise in occupations such as electronics, computer-aided drafting, precision machining, medical assisting and culinary arts. The competitions were created and judged by industry to ensure that students are learning the real-world skills employers demand from entry-level professionals.  

The 10 gold-medal winners advance to the national level of competition that will be held in Atlanta in June.  

Faculty and staff advisors include Sharon Couch, Sharleen Foster, Katie Lovette, Jonathan Maness, Kent McQuilkin and Aaron Roy