Skip to content
Home » SEAL

SEAL

Student Engagement and Leadership

Pellissippi State’s Student Engagement and Leadership is the place to be for students who want to get involved, have fun and make a difference in our campus community. There are a lot of ways to get involved, including:

  • Student Government Association
  • Student clubs and organizations
  • Leadership development
  • Civic engagement and volunteerism
  • Recreational activities
  • Social events
  • and more! 

Through Student Engagement and Leadership, the student experience at Pellissippi State provides plenty of opportunities for personal enrichment. There are many opportunities for you to grow and develop your leadership skills, make a difference in your community and engage and connect outside the classroom across our five campuses. 

Civic Engagement and Volunteerism

We offer a wide variety of ways for you to make a difference in the community. 

Are you looking for an opportunity because you were assigned service from a professor? You want Service-Learning!

See Pellissippi State policies related to SEAL listed under “student.”

Are you looking for opportunities to volunteer as a way to fulfill community service requirements for Tennessee Promise, National Society for Leadership and Success, another scholarship, or just as a way to give back to the community?  Then click here for more information about volunteerism!

Contact Us

Student Engagement and Leadership
seal@pstcc.edu 
865-694-6555

Goins 141
Hardin Valley Campus

Follow us on social media:

Upcoming Events

Club Directory

Club NameCampusAdvisorDescription
Active Black Student Association [ABSA]Magnolia AvenueStudent Engagement and Leadership
SEAL@pstcc.edu
Provides an opportunity for students to create plan and implement programming and a forum to discuss concerns of minority students.
Active Black Student Association [ABSA]Division StreetStudent Engagement and Leadership
SEAL@pstcc.edu
Provides an opportunity for students to create plan and implement programming and a forum to discuss concerns of minority students.
Active Black Student Association [ABSA]Hardin ValleyStudent Engagement and Leadership
SEAL@pstcc.edu
Provides an opportunity for students to create plan and implement programming and a forum to discuss concerns of minority students.
APE ClubHardin ValleyJonathan Maness
jwmaness@pstcc.edu
This club will exist to promote collaboration and support between all students enrolled in the Audio Production Engineering Program on both the Hardin Valley and Magnolia Campus.
ASL Please!Hardin ValleyStudent Engagement and Leadership
SEAL@pstcc.edu
To promote knowledge of ASL in the College and larger communities and to build and strengthen relationship with the Deaf and ASL communities.
Business ClubMagnolia AvenueTracey Farr
tefarr@pstcc.edu
To work closely with start-up companies in the community to help launch and grow businesses and become partners in success allowing opportunities to learn about other forms of investment.
Club SportsHardin ValleyPhil Ems
paems@pstcc.edu
All club sports are co-ed. Volleyball Soccer Fencing and Ultimate Frisbee have been our most consistent clubs that form on an annual basis. Don’t see a sport you like? Contact me to discuss the details of starting a new club.
Creative Writing ClubStrawberry PlainsPatty Ireland
paireland@pstcc.edu
To engage and support creative writers at Pellissippi State.
Creative Writing ClubDivision StreetDeborah Bernhardt
drbernhardt@pstcc.edu
To engage and support creative writers at Pellissippi State.
Drama ClubMagnolia AvenueRichard Rick Patton
rpatton@pstcc.edu
To develop dramatic talent the art of acting to cultivate a taste for the best in drama and foster cultural values developed by dramatics.
Engineers@PSCCHardin ValleyOlga Malkina
oomalkina@pstcc.edu
To encourage women students across the college to consider a career in Engineering.To bring together women students from all engineering areas and specializations. (Manufacturing mechanical civil design).To be a group that welcomes and supports existing new and prospective engineering students.Plan and host events that enhance the learning experience of current students (networking events guest lectures team building exercises etc.)Help faculty and staff promote the PSCC brand and the engineering department.Be a part of recruitment events where the engineering department is invited to set up a booth.Be a role model for prospective students.
Future Farmers of America (FFA)All CampusesChristopher Milne cmilne@pstcc.eduThe Pellissippi State FFA Club is designed to bring together students who were involved in FFA in high school. The club hopes to keep students involved with FFA activities on the college level and continue to prepare students for careers in Agriculture.
Drama Club – Delta Psi Omega – Drama ClubHardin ValleyGrechen Wingerter
glwingerter@pstcc.edu
To develop dramatic talent the art of acting to cultivate a taste for the best in drama and foster cultural values developed by dramatics.
Gamma Beta PhiAll CampusesNicholas [Nick] Rummell
nlrummell@pstcc.edu
To recognize and encourage excellence in education; promote development of leadership ability and character in its members; and to foster disseminate and improve education through appropriate service projects.
Imaginary Gardens Literary MagazineHardin ValleyHeather Schroeder
hlschroeder@pstcc.edu
To produce a literary magazine each spring semester featuring short stories poetry artwork and photography submitted by students.
International ClubHardin ValleyPatty Moore
Pemoore1@pstcc.edu
Share cultures and traditions from around the world and join activities to advance intercultural understanding across campus.
Intervarsity Christian FellowshipHardin ValleyToby Russell
thrussell@pstcc.edu
To establish witnessing communities of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God’s word God’s people of every ethnicity and culture and God’s purposes in the world.
NSLS – The National Society of Leadership and SuccessAll CampusesDelnita Evans
dnevans3@pstcc.edu
The NSLS is an organization that helps people discover and achieve their goals. The NSLS offers life-changing lectures from the nation’s leading presenters and a community where like-minded success-oriented individuals come together and help one another succeed. The NSLS also serves as a powerful force of good in the greater community by encouraging and organizing action to better the world.The guiding question we established to shape all the important decisions the organization makes is: “Are we helping the greatest number of people in the greatest way?” When asked how he might sum up the key thing that the NSLS does founder Gary Tuerack shared “We are dream supporters we build leaders support people in achieving their dreams and better the world in the process. We get people to ask the all-important question ‘What would you do if you knew you couldn’t fail?’ and then help them to achieve those goals.”
Pellissippi Cycling ClubAll CampusesMike Cannady
mtcannady@pstcc.edu
To promote bicycling for PSCC students as well as faculty & staff.  To increase the awareness and enjoyment of bicycling for the Knoxville community. To support cyclists who want to race competitively at the local, regional or national level.
Pellissippi Patriots ClubHardin ValleyJesse Cragwall
jrcragwall@pstcc.edu
Connecting fellow veterans and offer services that will help them facilitate a transition from military life.
Pellissippi Pride Club (LGBT)All Campuses

Deborah Bernhardt
drbernhardt@pstcc.edu

Wendy Bennett Turner
wbennett@pstcc.edu

Wendy Sukosd
wasukosd@pstcc.edu

To offer unity resources and support in social educational and political environments for lesbian gay bisexual transgender and queer students faculty staff and their allies.
Pellissippi State Motorsports AKA PSCC Formula SAEHardin ValleyLynn Klett
lbklett@pstcc.edu
The purpose of this club/team is to function as a competitive Formula SAE team. Activities include designing building and racing a formula car at SAE sanctioned events.This team will benefit currentengineering business chemistry and media design students (probably even more majors than this).
Phi Theta KappaAll CampusesJennifer Horn
jshorn@pstcc.edu
This national honor society for two-year colleges recognizes academic excellence among students at Pellissippi State.
Rotaract Club  – Service above SelfHardin ValleyStephanie Markowitz
ssmarkowitz@pstcc.edu
To bring together people ages 18-30 in universities and communities worldwide to organize service activities develop leadership and professional skills and have fun.
Science ClubHardin ValleyRoxana Beach
rmbeach@pstcc.edu
To promote interest in the science disciplines through discussions, lectures, and field trips; to serve the student and college communities and community-at-large.
Skills USAAll CampusesDean Loveday
tcloveday@pstcc.edu
SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce.
SNAPS (Student Nurses Association Pellissippi State)BlountTerri Whisenhunt
tewhisenhunt@pstcc.edu
To educate nursing students and promote their involvement in a professional nursing organization.
Soul PurposeBlount CountyLauren Jordan
lmjordan@pstcc.edu
Our mission is to cultivate a community of college women who know their value, worth, and, identity. We would be located at Blount campus.
STEA (Student Tennessee Education Association)Hardin ValleyLaura Lawson
lklawson@pstcc.edu
To promote and support future teachers through professional development events and service projects related to the field of education.
Student Activities Board [SAB]All CampusesDelnita Evans
dnevans3@pstcc.edu
To plan organize implement and evaluate activities on campus. Offering the student body educational social and cultural enrichment opportunities.
Tennessee Intercollegiate Student Legislature (TISL)Hardin ValleyJesse Cragwall
jrcragwall@pstcc.edu
To use state government as a model to educate and inspire Tennessee college students to the highest standards of leadership public service and civic engagement. The TISL conducts legislative judicial and other participatory programs that lets students experience realistic governing situations and voice their opinions on public affairs.
Welding ClubStrawberry PlainsAdam Streich
akstreich@pstcc.edu
To promote professional competency by providing club members opportunities to create practical or artistic projects community involvement and volunteer opportunities.
X HungerHardin ValleyLisa Fall
lfall@pstcc.edu
Our organization will carry out the LUVS program (locate a pantry understand its needs volunteer and provide service) to support the PSCC pantry . This club will be based at the Hardin Valley campus; however. we are recruiting officers and members from across all 5 campuses.
X HungerHardin ValleyDeborah Szwarc
dfszwarc@pstcc.edu